Live!
Tue 26 Sep 2017
- The award-winning student news website of Imperial College

Know something you shouldn't? Tell us, using our quick, 100% anonymous tip-off form!

Live! - Opinion

This article is an opinion piece and should be taken as such. It is highly likely to be biased, but either the article itself or the ensuing discussion will probably be entertaining. Live! takes no editorial line on opinion pieces.

Medic sense of humour

Nov 27 2004 22:35
Prince Albert
Prince Albert is back, to ask: "Can Medics be funny?" and tell you about an opportunity for you to find out for yourselves.
Fitness to Practice - an album of comedy songs in aid of ICSM RAG

Bonjour la classe! Today we?re going to have a little think about the Medic sense of humour.

Let?s ignore for a moment the (almost certainly untrue) tales from the dissecting room that your Medic chums relay during dinner. We?ll also skip the species of comedian who happens to have an MBBS (Harry Hill, Graeme Garden, Graham Chapman etc); and concentrate on the tradition of the Medical School Revue.

You?ve probably heard all sorts of ghastly tales of 600 drunken rugger players jeering in the audience whilst on stage every bodily fluid imaginable is interchanged and splashed around; but have you been to one before? The ICSM show, the Soir?e, isn?t publicised outside of the Med School, so you?ve probably not.

Fear not, I?ve brought along some learning aids. This site has some free tracks to download taken from "Fitness to Practice", a new CD of comedy songs we?ve produced in aid of ICSM RAG (Macmillan Cancer Relief). Don?t worry ? it?s hardly in-jokey at all.

See what you think, and report back to "Live!". It might even convince you there?s such a thing as a Medic sense of humour...

Email this Article | Share on Facebook | Print this Article

Discussion about “Medic sense of humour”

The comments below are unmoderated submissions by Live! readers. The Editor accepts no liability for their content, nor for any offence caused by them. Any complaints should be directed to the Editor.
Nov 28 2004 14:53
 

It's truly a master piece. I am very impressed with Nothing At All. It certainly touches my bottom part of my heart. Thanks Prince Albert!

2. n/a   
Nov 28 2004 18:24
 

...dare I mention copyright issues?

Nov 28 2004 20:40
 

Sweet, Nothing at all and Snippets are great! Love the macarena thing in there, aaaaaye.

Nov 28 2004 23:14
 

But will it beat the proposed 'Sing along a RAG Mag???'

Nov 28 2004 23:29
 

Medics? Humour?

Nov 29 2004 10:07
 

I have purchased a copy of the whole album: fantastic! The Dorsal Horn Concerto a la Flanders and Swann is brilliant, as is Paracetamoxyfrusebendroneomycin!

Dec 18 2004 19:36
 

Wow, I heard the Paracetamo.. song in 1st year, but didn't hear much about it for a while. Just listened to a few tracks now. Hilarious work, guys! Pure genius.

Feb 17 2005 12:26
 

I heard "Nothing at all" in a rock club last Saturday and it was sure bringing in some laughs, couldn't believe it! Well done guys.

Feb 18 2005 14:04
 

I heard 80% of this album on wednesday, and am now going to buy it. Possibly the funniest thing to come out of the mouths of medics..

10. d0dger   
Feb 18 2005 15:21
 

The Going Underground song has acculmulated quite some fame by now, and is also rather good IMHO. I think everyone who uses the tube on a regular basis can relate to it.

Feb 18 2005 16:38
 

but you should never make the mistake of starting to sing it whislt on the underground. Not all of the closures due to "passenger action" are accidents....the blue and red mafia are after you

Feb 21 2005 15:51
 

The london underground song seems to be getting around a bit http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/02/21/blair_isp_fasthosts/

13. Ruth   
Feb 21 2005 16:14
 

I'm just waiting for an opportunity to use, "You look like s**t, when you wear nothing at all" on someone!

Closed This discussion is closed.

Please contact the Live! Editor if you would like this discussion topic re-opened.

 
Live!

Also In Prince Albert

  1. Richard Walker Esq, Esteemed DP (C&S)
    07 Nov 03 | Prince Albert
  2. Medics are different. And better.
    27 Jan 03 | Prince Albert
  3. Yes 2 Fees
    13 Nov 02 | Prince Albert

See Also

  1. Photography Exhibition comes to Imperial
    20 Oct 04 | Art & Exhibitions
  2. Medics' Orchestra gives great concert once again
    11 Mar 04 | Concerts & Gigs
  3. Glorious Singing in the Rain
    23 Nov 03 | Concerts & Gigs

Live! Poll

How frequently would you like to see a CGCU magazine being published




Live!