Live!
Wed 20 Sep 2017
- The award-winning student news website of Imperial College

Know something you shouldn't? Tell us, using our quick, 100% anonymous tip-off form!

Live! - Opinion

This article is an opinion piece and should be taken as such. It is highly likely to be biased, but either the article itself or the ensuing discussion will probably be entertaining. Live! takes no editorial line on opinion pieces.

Former President Speaks Out Against Language Cuts

Jun 05 2009 01:22
Lawrence Weetman
Former ICU President, Mustafa Arif, has criticised proposed language cuts in a letter to felix today.
Another flagrant re-use of old Live! photography...

Former ICU President, Mustafa Arif, has said that he is "saddened" by the proposed cuts to humanities courses at Imperial in a letter published in today's issue of felix - which has also been forwarded to the Rector, Pro-Rector for Education and ICU President. Mustafa Arif was president of Imperial College Union from 2003-2005, following the degree in EEE that he studied from 1999-2003.

Arif explains that he believes that language options are an important part of making a degree from Imperial a well-rounded one, saying that "the opportunity to broaden study options was one of the reasons I, and I'm sure many other IC students and alumni, chose to go to Imperial."

A picture of an entirely nondescript letter.

He went on to point out how vital language options are in his work environment, writing "as a practising engineer I can confirm that the wide opportunity to study languages and humanities produces more rounded graduates better equipped to fulfill the leadership roles required in today's multi-disciplinary and multi-functional workplaces. It's something I've always considered just as important as the wide range of student clubs, societies and sports."

Arif warned that "language tuition is also essential to widen students' opportunities for a year abroad or overseas internship", saying that he thought that the language cuts would effectively bar anyone who hasn't studied a language before arriving at Imperial from taking up one of these placements.

Responding to the Rector's calls for privatisation of top universities in order to bring them up to the standard of America's "Ivy League" establishments, Arif goes on to say that whilst the language options available at Imperial are "unique for science students in the UK", they are not so "unique" in Ivy League institutions. Mustafa says that Imperial College only introduced a Roman History module as an option back in 2005 because the Massachusetts Institute of Technology announced that it was their "most popular option" amongst their engineering students.

Does anyone seriously think "accounting" is even in the same league as "fluid dynamics"?
Mustafa Arif, former ICU President

Arif thinks that classifying languages as a "soft option", as many have done in recent days, is an "extraordinary generalisation", explaining that he counts his humanities modules as "much harder than any engineering module". Arif says that the possible explanation for this is that most Imperial students "whose natural talent is in numerate, scientific disciplines find both language and essay-type subjects difficult and hard work". He says that it was, in actual fact, the management courses that many students appeared to find less worthwhile when compared to other courses within their degree.

Finally, referring to Wednesday's protest against the humanities cuts, he hopes that "students are able to reverse these plans and the College is able to find a way to keep humanities and languages alive".

Email this Article | Share on Facebook | Print this Article

Discussion about “Former President Speaks Out Against Language Cuts”

The comments below are unmoderated submissions by Live! readers. The Editor accepts no liability for their content, nor for any offence caused by them. Any complaints should be directed to the Editor.
1. Ted   
Jun 05 2009 14:55
 

Well done! We cannot lose the languages option!!

2. Jonne   
Jun 05 2009 15:00
 

Language courses SHOULD NOT be cut at Imperial nor should any other humanities course! It simply would be devastating if it did occurr! Thanks Arif for your support!

Jonne

3. hmmm   
Jun 05 2009 20:20
 

Save our languages!

4.  
Jun 05 2009 23:32
 

Should instead cut courses like Project Management!

Jun 08 2009 18:31
 

@4:

Imperial could also charge a bit more for those MBAs.

In first year Physics, the whole 'Professional Skills' thing is a bit of a joke. Apart from the numerical estimates/dimensional analysis part, the whole communication bit is is a waste. I only kept going to the sessions to have a laugh with some friends.

May 27 2013 08:40
 

Why lkkmotor so cheaper than any other seller?

I bought one complete <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/honda-fairings/c-1/" title=" Honda fairing "> Honda fairing </a> kits from lkkmotor 4 years ago on e bay, they sell on e bay only once. Right now I can get 8% discount from their own online <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/" title=" motorcycle parts superstore "> motorcycle parts superstore </a>. I am sure lkkmotor is your best choose if you want to buying motorcycle fairing, the pirce is the best than any other Sellers, Because they are the <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/" title=" motorcycle fairing factory "> motorcycle fairing factory </a>, almost all the fairing seller buy from his factory then sell it to us. All right I don't know the other <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/" title="motorcycle parts"> motorcycle parts </a>. Maybe some one was cheaper than lkkmotor.Right now, lkkmotor pay me every month, and I send this article on all every forums. We can buy any <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/" title=" sport bike parts "> sport bike parts </a> on their webstore. For example, <a href=" http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/suzuki-fairings/c-3/ " title="Suzuki Fairings"> Suzuki Fairings</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/yamaha-fairings/c-7/" title="Yamaha Fairings">Yamaha Fairings </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/kawasaki-fairings/c-73/" title="Kawasaki Fairings"> Kawasaki Fairings</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/ducati-fairings/c-100/" title="Ducati Fairings">Ducati Fairings </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/aprilia-fairings/c-101/" title="Aprilia Fairings"> Aprilia Fairings</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/frame-sliders/c-106/" title="Frame Sliders">Frame Sliders </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/windscreen-windshield/c-111/" title="Windscreen Windshield"> Windscreen Windshield</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/brake-clutch-levers/c-161/" title="Brake Clutch Levers">Brake Clutch Levers </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/lighting-and-mirrors/c-145/" title="Lighting and Mirrors">Lighting and Mirrors </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/lighting-and-mirrors/headlight/c-146/" title=Headlight>Headlight </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/lighting-and-mirrors/led-turn-signals/c-153/" title="LED Turn Signals">LED Turn Signals </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-jacket/c-162/" title="Motorcycle Jacket"> </a>,<a href="" title="">Motorcycle Jacket </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/speedometer/c-163/" title=Speedometer>Speedometer</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/rear-set/c-164/" title="Rear Set">Rear Set</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/chain-guard/c-165/" title="Chain Guard">Chain Guard</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/rear-hugger-fender/c-166/" title="Rear Hugger Fender"> Rear Hugger Fender</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/fender-eliminator/c-167/" title="Fender Eliminator"> Fender Eliminator</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/stay-bracket/c-168/" title="Stay Bracket">Stay Bracket </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/riser-handlebar/c-169/" title="Riser Handlebar"> Riser Handlebar</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/wheel-rim/c-170/" title="Wheel Rim">Wheel Rim </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-helmet/c-171/" title="Motorcycle Helmet">Motorcycle Helmet </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-armour/c-172/" title="Motorcycle Armour">Motorcycle Armour</a>,<a href="" title=""> </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-gloves/c-173/" title="Motorcycle Gloves">Motorcycle Gloves </a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-bootsshoes/c-174/" title="Motorcycle Boots&amp;Shoes"> Motorcycle Boots&Shoes</a>,<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-caps/c-175/" title="Motorcycle Caps"> Motorcycle Caps</a>. I have very happy purchase on lkkmotor, the service and product quality is also very good! I really Recommend !

Jun 27 2013 07:45
 

Why lkkmotor so cheaper than any other seller?

I bought one complete [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/honda-fairings/c-1/] Honda fairing [/url] kits from lkkmotor 4 years ago on e bay, they sell on e bay only once. Right now I can get 8% discount from their own online [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/] motorcycle parts superstore [/url]. I am sure lkkmotor is your best choose if you want to buying motorcycle fairing, the pirce is the best than any other Sellers, Because they are the [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/] motorcycle fairing factory [/url], almost all the fairing seller buy from his factory then sell it to us. All right I don't know the other [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/] motorcycle parts [/url]. Maybe some one was cheaper than lkkmotor.Right now, lkkmotor pay me every month, and I send this article on all every forums. We can buy any [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/] sport bike parts [/url] on their webstore. For example, [url= http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/suzuki-fairings/c-3/ ] Suzuki Fairings [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/yamaha-fairings/c-7/]Yamaha Fairings [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/kawasaki-fairings/c-73/] Kawasaki Fairings[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/ducati-fairings/c-100/]Ducati Fairings [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/aprilia-fairings/c-101/] Aprilia Fairings[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/frame-sliders/c-106/]Frame Sliders [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/windscreen-windshield/c-111/] Windscreen Windshield[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/brake-clutch-levers/c-161/]Brake Clutch Levers [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/lighting-and-mirrors/c-145/]Lighting and Mirrors [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/lighting-and-mirrors/headlight/c-146/" title=Headlight>Headlight [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/lighting-and-mirrors/led-turn-signals/c-153/]LED Turn Signals [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-jacket/c-162/]Motorcycle Jacket [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/speedometer/c-163/]Speedometer[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/rear-set/c-164/]Rear Set[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/chain-guard/c-165/]Chain Guard[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/rear-hugger-fender/c-166/] Rear Hugger Fender[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/fender-eliminator/c-167/] Fender Eliminator[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/stay-bracket/c-168/]Stay Bracket [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/riser-handlebar/c-169/] Riser Handlebar[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/wheel-rim/c-170/]Wheel Rim [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-helmet/c-171/]Motorcycle Helmet [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-armour/c-172/]Motorcycle Armour[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-gloves/c-173/]Motorcycle Gloves [/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-bootsshoes/c-174/]Motorcycle Boots&Shoes[/url],[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/motorcycle-caps/c-175/] Motorcycle Caps[/url]. I have very happy purchase on lkkmotor, the service and product quality is also very good! I really Recommend !

Jul 24 2013 07:58
 

How to buy <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/" title="motorcycle fairings">motorcycle fairings</a> is cheapest?<br />

<br />

I believe that every motorcycle sports enthusiasts have a beloved motorycle bike, it is pretty cool shell publicize their personality, to attract the attention of countless people. The following share with how to replace my <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/honda-fairings/c-1/" title="Honda fairings">Honda fairings</a> and under what circumstances save the most money, but also get the fastest delivery.<br />

<br />

We all know that racing season are generally concentrated in January to Apir, this time presumably every bike owners consider replacing the fairing, No matter yours' <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/suzuki-fairings/c-3/" title="suzuki fairings">suzuki fairings</a> or <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/yamaha-fairings/c-7/" title="Yamaha fairings">Yamaha fairings</a>. So that we are almost at the same time to order from factory, because motorcycle fairings made in advance, a sudden surge in factory orders, painting job speed accordingly become very slow. Meanwhile motorcycle fairing is large parcel,for example <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/kawasaki-fairings/c-73/" title="kawasaki fairing">kawasaki fairing</a>, <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/ducati-fairings/c-100/" title="Ducati fairing">Ducati fairing</a>, etc, the volume is very large. Freight company is very annoying such goods, they only like heavy and small items. In the case of such a fixed route, they generally first select transporting heavy small items.<br />

<br />

Therefore, we should avoid the peak period, select the off-season replacement. For example <a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/triumph-fairings/c-102/" title="Triumph fairing">Triumph fairing</a>. So we do not worry, you can choose a little slower, cheaper shipping methods, very economical, but also can quickly receive the goods!<br />

<br />

Thank you for your time!<br />

<a href="http://www.lkkmotor.com/" title="motorcycle fairings online shop">motorcycle fairings online shop</a><br/>

Jul 24 2013 09:41
 

How to buy [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/]motorcycle fairings[/url] is cheapest?<br />

<br />

I believe that every motorcycle sports enthusiasts have a beloved motorycle bike, it is pretty cool shell publicize their personality, to attract the attention of countless people. The following share with how to replace my [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/honda-fairings/c-1/]Honda fairings[/url] and under what circumstances save the most money, but also get the fastest delivery.<br />

<br />

We all know that racing season are generally concentrated in January to Apir, this time presumably every bike owners consider replacing the fairing, No matter yours' [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/suzuki-fairings/c-3/]suzuki fairings[/url] or [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/yamaha-fairings/c-7/]Yamaha fairings[/url]. So that we are almost at the same time to order from factory, because motorcycle fairings made in advance, a sudden surge in factory orders, painting job speed accordingly become very slow. Meanwhile motorcycle fairing is large parcel,for example [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/kawasaki-fairings/c-73/]kawasaki fairing[/url], [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/ducati-fairings/c-100/]Ducati fairing[/url], etc, the volume is very large. Freight company is very annoying such goods, they only like heavy and small items. In the case of such a fixed route, they generally first select transporting heavy small items.<br />

<br />

Therefore, we should avoid the peak period, select the off-season replacement. For example [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/triumph-fairings/c-102/]Triumph fairing[/url]. So we do not worry, you can choose a little slower, cheaper shipping methods, very economical, but also can quickly receive the goods!<br />

<br />

Thank you for your time!<br />

[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/]motorcycle fairings online shop[/url]<br/>

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com http://www.lkkmotor.com

Jul 24 2013 21:30
 

EBOOKERS

Jul 30 2013 04:19
 

How to buy [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/]motorcycle fairings[/url] is cheapest?<br />

<br />

I believe that every motorcycle sports enthusiasts have a beloved motorycle bike, it is pretty cool shell publicize their personality, to attract the attention of countless people. The following share with how to replace my [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/honda-fairings/c-1/]Honda fairings[/url] and under what circumstances save the most money, but also get the fastest delivery.<br />

<br />

We all know that racing season are generally concentrated in January to Apir, this time presumably every bike owners consider replacing the fairing, No matter yours' [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/suzuki-fairings/c-3/]suzuki fairings[/url] or [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/yamaha-fairings/c-7/]Yamaha fairings[/url]. So that we are almost at the same time to order from factory, because motorcycle fairings made in advance, a sudden surge in factory orders, painting job speed accordingly become very slow. Meanwhile motorcycle fairing is large parcel,for example [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/kawasaki-fairings/c-73/]kawasaki fairing[/url], [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/ducati-fairings/c-100/]Ducati fairing[/url], etc, the volume is very large. Freight company is very annoying such goods, they only like heavy and small items. In the case of such a fixed route, they generally first select transporting heavy small items.<br />

<br />

Therefore, we should avoid the peak period, select the off-season replacement. For example [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/triumph-fairings/c-102/]Triumph fairing[/url]. So we do not worry, you can !<br />

<br />

Thank you for your time!<br />

[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/]motorcycle fairings online shop[/url]<br/>

Jul 30 2013 04:20
 

How to buy [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/]motorcycle fairings[/url] is cheapest?<br />

<br />

I believe that every motorcycle sports enthusiasts have a beloved motorycle bike, it is pretty cool shell publicize their personality, to attract the attention of countless people. The following share with how to replace my [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/honda-fairings/c-1/]Honda fairings[/url] and under what circumstances save the most money, but also get the fastest delivery.<br />

<br />

We all know that racing season are generally concentrated in January to Apir, this time presumably every bike owners consider replacing the fairing, No matter yours' [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/suzuki-fairings/c-3/]suzuki fairings[/url] or [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/yamaha-fairings/c-7/]Yamaha fairings[/url]. So that we are almost at the same time to order from factory, because motorcycle fairings made in advance, a sudden surge in factory orders, painting job speed accordingly become very slow. Meanwhile motorcycle fairing is large parcel,for example [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/kawasaki-fairings/c-73/]kawasaki fairing[/url], [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/ducati-fairings/c-100/]Ducati fairing[/url], etc, the volume is very large. Freight company is very annoying such goods, they only like heavy and small items. In the case of such a fixed route, they generally first select transporting heavy small items.<br />

<br />

Therefore, we should avoid the peak period, select the off-season replacement. For example [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/triumph-fairings/c-102/]Triumph fairingeconomical, but also can quickly receive the goods!<br />

<br />

Thank you for your time!<br />

[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/]motorcycle fairings online shop[/url]<br/>

Jul 30 2013 04:21
 

How to buy [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/]motorcycle fairings[/url] is cheapest?<br />

<br />

I believe that every motorcycle sports enthusiasts have a beloved motorycle bike, it is pretty cool shell publicize their personality, to attract the attention of countless people. The following share with how to replace my [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/honda-fairings/c-1/]Honda fairings[/url] and under what circumstances save the most money, but also get the fastest delivery.<br />

<br />

We all know that racing season are generally concentrated in January to Apir, this time presumably every bike owners consider replacing the fairing, No matter yours' [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/suzuki-fairings/c-3/]suzuki fairings[/url] or [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/yamaha-fairings/c-7/]Yamaha fairings[/url]. So that we are almost at the same time to order from factory, because motorcycle fairings made in advance, a sudden surge in factory orders, painting job speed accordingly become very slow. Meanwhile motorcycle fairing is large parcel,for example [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/kawasaki-fairings/c-73/]kawasaki fairing[/url], [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/ducati-fairings/c-100/]Ducati fairing[/url], etc, the volume is very large. Freight company is very annoying such goods, they only like heavy and small items. In the case of such a fixed route, they generally first select transporting heavy small items.<br />

<br />

Therefore, we should avoid the peak period, select the off-season replacement. For example [url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/products/triumph-fairings/c-102/]Triumph fairing[/url]. So we do not worry, you can choose a little slower, cheaper shipping methods, very economical, but also can quickly<br />

Thank you for your time!<br />

[url=http://www.lkkmotor.com/]motorcycle fairings online shop[/url]<br/>

15. Willem   
Jul 30 2013 19:44
 

Karen cole paper LLC

Jul 31 2013 16:09
 

Regis High School

Add your comment:

If you can see this, something is broken (either with your browser, or with our system). Please leave the box below empty, or your comment will be considered to be spam.
Live!

Also In Random Rant

  1. A Statement from the Rector
    04 Jun 09 | Random Rant
  2. The Pot that Called the Kettle Black
    19 Sep 08 | Random Rant
  3. Where's Tristan?
    25 Apr 08 | Random Rant

Live! Poll

How frequently would you like to see a CGCU magazine being published




Live!